Lost in Translation

Since I am currently neither employed nor enrolled in school, I have a lot of spare time to kill. Therefore, I have begun to pursue a multitude of hobbies: cooking, cross stitching, practicing German, and attempting-to-jog. Yesterday, I was completing one of my favorite hobbies—binge watching TV series.

I cozied up on the couch and opened Amazon Instant Video with the intention of watching The Big Bang Theory. However, when I opened up the streaming service, a large advertisement appeared for season four of Downton Abbey. I was intrigued as the series has acquired a large following. And who doesn’t love Maggie Smith? I opened Downtown Abbey, scrolled to season one, and began to stream the first episode.

Two characters fill the screen, one of whom is deciphering a message in Morse code. Unexpectedly, the character speaks in German. Even more unexpectedly, I understand! My brain reels at the surprise: the characters must now be in Germany. The conversation continues in German. After about a minute, I am confused: why are there no English subtitles for a British series?

Then it hits me. It’s not the characters who are in Germany, but so obviously me in Germany streaming from German Amazon. The show was dubbed.

Idleness is clearly turning my brain to mush.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment