5 American Home Features that I Miss

When traveling by train through Europe, you can observe ancient forests, blooming meadows, and tall mountains. The landscape, however, isn’t the only visible change as you pass from country to country. Regions also possess distinct housing styles: traditional or modern, subdued or colorful, small or large. Globally, these distinct styles of housing become even more extreme. While the variations in exteriors are much easier to observe, the interiors of homes also differ throughout the world. Features which are common in one country are completely absent in another. Although I love our German apartment, there are still common, American housing features that I miss.

Five American Home Features that I Miss:

Closets:

Built-in closets are practically non-existent in German houses and apartments. Instead, wardrobes and dressers are purchased to store clothing. The only built-in storage spaces which our apartment possesses are a pantry with shelves and a small room in the basement. Our pantry is crammed full with nonperishable foods, extra drinks, towels, and small odds-and-ends, while the basement storage—located four floors below—holds our bicycles, luggage, and boxes.

Without the built-in closes which are so common in the US, there is a major lack of storage in our apartment. Our living room and work room both have piles of infrequently used items stacked in the corners. Our laundry hamper sits on a bulky toolbox and the top of our wardrobe is a collection area for even more tools and unused items.

When I told my German friend that we only have a hand-held vacuum, she thought I was joking. However, I don’t want to purchase a full-sized vacuum only to have to look at it standing in the corner every day with the broom or ironing board.

Bathroom Fan:

In Germany to let fresh air into the bathroom after showering or you-know-what, you open the window. The German’s explanation, “Why would you pay for a machine to do something, when you can just open the window for free?” The drawback is that unless you’re very diligent about closing the window a few minutes later—which we are not—your bathroom is just always cold in the winter.

Dryer:

Although dryers may be common among German homeowners, there simply isn’t the space in most apartments for an unnecessary appliance. It can even be difficult to find space for the laundry machine! Our neighbor was impressed that we jammed our washer into the bathroom. His, on the other hand, is in the kitchen.

For 75% of the year, life without a dryer is perfectly okay. When hung outside, clothes dry rather quickly and you save energy. In the winter, however, it can take days for clothing items to dry inside. Even worse, no dryer means no plush, fluffy towels.

Window Screens:

German houses and apartments typically don’t have screens on their windows. It’s just a wide, open space for bugs to enter your home through, as well as a constant source of concern for any parent or pet owner. Fourth floor + screen-less window + cat = bad.

Air Conditioning:

In Germany, air conditioning is uncommon in businesses and downright rare in homes or apartments. Even if there is an air conditioning, the temperature of the room feels normal—neither warm nor cool. This contrasts starkly with the US, where air conditioning is as common as dirt and buildings are frequently kept at arctic temperatures in the summer. Surprisingly enough, the transition from the US to Germany wasn’t as difficult as I was expecting as someone who gets sweaty from carrying the groceries upstairs. When it was in the 90’s (30-37 C) last summer, though, an air conditioner would have been nice.

Although I sometimes find myself pondering how a country of practicality-obsessed people can live without closets and window screens, I am sure there is a German in the US annoyed with the bathroom’s stale air, shrinking all of her clothes, and freezing at the grocery store. To each his own!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “5 American Home Features that I Miss

  1. mymeenalife says:

    So true! My German bathroom has a fan but it will only turn on when the light is on, which causes me to leave the light on a lot (I’m still working on my energy conservation skills…). And we have a bird, so the window screen thing is super irritating! I also miss regular size refrigerators and having a garbage disposal in the sink.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m surprised! Does your bathroom not have a window? The refrigerator and garbage disposal are good points! I miss having a freezer that can hold more than a few food items and a kitchen sink with two basins.

      Like

      • mymeenalife says:

        The bathroom has a large window, but the place we live in was recently renovated. We actually have a forced air ventilation system in the living room and bedroom, which seems to be totally abnormal! And yes – my kitchen sink is the size of my forearm.

        Like

      • Wow, I’ve never seen that. Very cool! As for the kitchen sink, I’m happy we have a dish washer so that I don’t have to try to wash the dishes in one, small sink.

        Like

  2. Glad to get that information, in a lot of ways India is like Germany (at least the things you mentioned here, not otherwise). And, you are right, I want a window in bathroom and the dryers are too strong. But, I like my apartment in America, its much more comfortable than the ones in India.

    Like

    • I completely forgot how much stronger the dryers are in the US! I used a dryer once or twice in Germany during my semester abroad, but stopped because my clothes were still damp after an hour. An American dryer can almost completely dry a thicker blanker in that time.

      Is your apartment in the US any bigger than you would typically have in India?

      Like

      • The dryers are a relief though for me, coz line drying is so much effort, especially in winters! Apartment size is fine (similar to what we have in India) and doesn’t matter coz its student housing, just the kitchen is too small. I love the bounties here so much, so easy to wipe off anything.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. […] means air conditioning and window screens and walk-in-closets, darn […]

    Like

Leave a comment